Gluten-Free Dible

Find the recipes, tips & community that you need to thrive on a low histamine diet, from other custom eaters like you!

Slider

Gluten-Free Substitutes

Rate this item
(0 votes)
When we think of taking out gluten, the first thought is of all those steaming hot breads, olive oil-laced pastas, luscious cookies and holiday pies we won't be able to eat.  The good news is that all of these things can still be made (and more than that, enjoyed!), just with a different set of grains than you're probably accustomed to.  Here are some suggestions to get you started.
 

Contain Gluten

Gluten-Free Alternatives

Grains
  • wheat, including:
    • einkorn
    • durum
    • faro
    • graham
    • kamut
    • semolina
    • spelt
  • rye
  • barley
  • oats (unless certified gluten-free)
  • amaranth
  • buckwheat
  • corn / maize
  • fava bean flour
  • flax
  • garbanzo bean flour
  • millet
  • oats (may be tolerated IF certified GF)
  • potato flour
  • quinoa
  • rice
  • soy flour
  • sweet sorghum
  • tapioca
  • teff

Common

food sources

  • all baked goods
  • sauces & gravies
  • salad dressings
  • soy sauce
  • breaded foods such as chicken fingers, fish sticks, veal scaloppini, etc.
  • granola, unless it specifically states that it's made with gluten-free oats
  • baked potato and vegetable chips
  • processed lunch meats
  • rotisserie chicken from grocery store
  • baked goods made with GF flour blends
  • sauces & gravies thickened with cornstarch, xanthum gum or GF flour blend
  • salad dressings not containing wheat or other gluten flour
  • gluten-free soy sauce
  • foods breaded with cornmeal, rice or quinoa flakes or potato starch
  • granola made from certified GF oats (if tolerated)
  • kettle-cooked potato chips
  • fresh-sliced roasts
  • home made roast chicken

Other possible

food sources

  • malt made from barley (including malt vinegar)
  • beer & malt beverages
  • coolers & hard lemonade (if contain malt barley)
  • spice blends
  • candies
  • distilled vinegar
  • distilled liquor
  • wine, champagne & GF beer

Possible

non-food

sources

  • prescription & over-the-counter medications
  • herbal supplements
  • play-dough
  • arts & crafts supplies
  • cross-contamination in food preparation
  • contact manufacturers to identify safe medication & herbal supplement alternatives
  • playdough made from GF flour blend
Last modified on Sunday, 19 January 2014 15:06